Adopt-a-Highway program announces 2017 art contest winners

Kentucky Press News Service

FRANKFORT – Students from Hopkinsville High School in Christian County, Williamstown Independent Schools in Grant County, Walton-Verona Middle School in Boone County and Rosa Parks Elementary in Fayette County took first place in the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s (KYTC) 2017 Adopt-a-Highway Art Contest.

“Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 Adopt-a-Highway Art Contest,” Transportation Secretary Greg Thomas said in a news release. “The winning pieces capture the beauty of Kentucky, show the remarkable talent of our students and communicate the importance of a clean environment in creative ways.”

The winner in each of four age divisions will receive a $100 gift card, while second and third-place finishers will receive a $50 gift card. First through third-place recipients for all age groups will receive framed prints of their posters. KYTC frames and displays the original artwork in the Transportation Cabinet’s conference center in Frankfort. Additionally, the winning artwork will be featured in the Adopt-a-Highway program’s calendar which will be available in July for the 2018-2019 academic year.

The 2017 contest winners were:

5-8 age category
1st place: Jessica Lin
Rosa Parks Elementary, Fayette County

2nd place: Gabby Welsh
Hearn Elementary, Franklin County

3rd place: Sophia Zerhusen
St. Joseph Academy, Boone County

9-11 age category
1st place: Kayleigh LeMay
Walton-Verona Middle School, Boone County

2nd place: Eshia Daljeet
Walton-Verona Middle School, Boone County

3rd place: Isaiah Gonzales
North Washington School, Washington County

12-14 age category
1st place: Brayden Peeples
Williamstown Independent Schools, Grant County

2nd place: Sara Schilling
Walton-Verona Middle School, Boone County

3rd place: Marcus Schultz
Williamstown Independent Schools, Grant County

15-18 age category
1st place: Shaelee Tate
Hopkinsville High School, Christian County

2nd place: Kailah Miller
Hopkinsville High School, Christian County

3rd place: Jordan Napper
Greenwood High School, Warren County

Nearly a thousand students from all 12 KYTC Highway Districts submitted entries.

“Every student who entered this year’s contest did an amazing job,” Secretary Thomas said. “We appreciate the hard work the students and their teachers put into their pieces and their support for our Adopt-a-Highway program. Their efforts help us discourage littering and promote a clean environment that lets Kentucky shine brightly.”

KYTC urges students and teachers to start early on the 2018 Art Contest. The Cabinet will accept entries Sept. 1 – Oct. 31, 2018. Additional information and the 2018 art contest entry form can be found at http://transportation.ky.gov/Adopt-a-Highway/Pages/Events.aspx.

The Adopt-a-Highway program is a statewide volunteer effort to reduce roadside litter and to keep Kentucky’s highways beautiful. Litter-free roads promote a clean environment, foster civic pride and save taxpayer dollars. More information on Kentucky’s Adopt-a-Highway program can be found at http://transportation.ky.gov/Adopt-a-Highway.